In 2008, this post was originally about the first At Work album Build It Up, Break It Down was available in DRM-free MP3, and about how it was available on iTunes, Amazon, and several other digital stores.

As of 2019, it is only available via Bandcamp in your choice of CD and/or full or high quality files.

At Work • "Build It Up, Break It Down" • PATH1

"What is best in music is not to be found in the notes."
— Gustav Mahler

There is silence. And in between the silence, there is more silence. It's the sound of destruction and the feeling of what's left behind. It's the noise of creation and the peace of solitude. At Work is up to something, and if you want to know what it is, you'll listen. And if listening makes you feel somehow uneasy, than you are truly hearing. In turn, hearing allows for feeling; feeling allows for understanding. At Work wants you to go with him. He wants to disturb your peace, but he also wants to bring you home.

You can fall asleep to this and have nightmares, or you could run to this through dark woods, completely unafraid. I don't know what this music is. If death is the sound of distant thunder at a picnic, At Work is the death, the thunder, and the picnic.

By Stephen Mejias for Bridges & Tunnels.

At Work ● Build It Up, Break It Down

At Work - "Build It Up, Break It Down" - PATH1
01 Auto-Start
02 Spider
03 Pin Bucket
04 Pour
05 Curve Pin
06 Darker Earlier
07 Panel
08 New Road
09 Rebar Cutter
10 Turn Buckles
11 Metro Commercial
12 Space Available
13 Falling Dirt
14 Plate Two
15 Sunburn
16 Off

Further Data:

Catalog Number: PATH1
Formats: 5" CD, MP3 V0, MP3 320, FLAC, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, ALAC, WAV, AIFF
Released: February 3, 2005
Total Mastering: John Sellekaers at Metarc
Time: 01:01:58
Photography: T. Charles
Design: Nice Looking Designs

$7 USD - Buy CD & Digital from Bandcamp

More News